Vicious Promise by M James

This post may contain affiliate links. If a purchase is made using these links, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Vicious Promise by M James

Book Info

Vicious Promise Series: The Promise Trilogy #1
Rating: four-half-stars Book ratings explained
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 275
ASIN: B099FHQY7N
Published: 03/09/2021
Available on:
Purchase at: Amazon | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU
Find on:

There’s only one choice for this innocent bride. Marry me or die.

I never wanted a wife.
But when the Bratva tries to take what was promised to me, it’s time to claim what’s mine.
I thought she would be a burden, a nuisance. A wife that I could lock away forever and forget about after our wedding night.

But Sofia Ferretti turns out to be the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen. Sweet, innocent—and virginal.
Too good for a ruthless killer like me.
I’m not here to seduce her, I’m here to keep her alive. Safe from everyone in Manhattan who wants her dead.

The Bratva are coming.
To take her.
To kill me.

But they don’t know how vicious I can be when it comes to keeping my promises.

Vicious Promise is the first novel in the Promise trilogy, part of the Mafia Princes series, and is not a standalone.
This book contains graphic violence and sexual themes that may not be suitable for all readers. Vicious Promises is best suited for fans of Nicole Fox and Rina Kent, who love their heroes damaged and their romance dark.

Vicious Promise - My Review

I absolutely devoured Vicious Promise. It was emotionally painful to read, but at the same time I couldn’t put it down.

The first part of the story has all the elements you’d expect from an enemies-to-lovers, arranged mafia marriage story, but with the unusual twist that the protagonists are fulfilling a promise made by their now-dead fathers. It’s an interesting premise that either party could back away from the agreement and accept the consequences yet both choose to forge ahead despite their difficulties.

Marry me or die
Luca

The second part of the story, which occurs on the days immediately adjacent to the wedding, was heartbreaking to witness. There’s so much I want to say about the characters’ actions and reactions but I’m not one to offer up spoilers so you’ll have to trust me that it’s worth it.

My one point of contention was that I had to read 73% of the book before I got any seggsy time. I want to feel angry at this but I find myself completely unable to. James built the tension leading up to this point so well that it would’ve ruined the story for the action to happen any sooner. Talk about a way to confuse me!

I’m really looking forward to the next book in the series because damn! That cliffhanger! I absolutely have to know what happens next!

About M. James

M James Logo

M. James writes dark, delicious romance featuring strong heroines and the damaged heroes who fall for them. Her books will leave you on the edge of a cliff begging for more, but a happily-ever-after is guaranteed every time—they’re just going to have to fight for it.

She resides in Chicago with her two dogs, her laptop, and way too many plants to count. When she’s not writing, you can find her curled up with a cup of coffee (or wine!) and her favorite comfort movie or novel.

Join the conversation
Scroll to Top